Home / Language programs / Costs

2026–2027 fees

What it costs

Tuition is only part of it. D-4 applicants usually pay two terms up front, show a bank balance for the visa, and pay rent from the first week. Here's the full picture.

Tuition and up-front payment

InstituteTuition / termApplication feeBank balanceD-4 minimum
Yonsei KLIKRW 1,960,000KRW 130,000USD 10,0002 terms; 4 terms for many countries incl. Nepal, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Vietnam, Mongolia, all of Africa
Sogang KLECKRW 1,860,000 (morning)KRW 100,000USD 10,000 (own name)2 terms
Korea University KLCKRW 1,800,000KRW 120,000KRW 10,000,0002 terms; 4 for Mongolia, Uzbekistan, Vietnam
SNU LEIKRW 1,800,000 (morning)KRW 100,000KRW 10,000,000Not stated
SKKU SLIKRW 1,780,000 (Seoul)KRW 80,000KRW 10,000,0002 terms
Ewha ELCKRW 1,850,000KRW 120,000KRW 10,000,000 (for two terms)2 terms paid up front
Kyung Hee IIEKRW 1,850,000KRW 120,000 (once)KRW 10,000,0002 terms paid up front
Kyungpook KLPKRW 1,400,000KRW 70,000USD 10,000Not stated
Chungnam ILECKRW 1,400,000KRW 70,000KRW 8,000,000Not stated

Official fees as published in Oct 2026. Most rise slightly each year; textbooks are extra.

A first year, roughly

ItemSeoulDaejeon / Daegu
Tuition, 4 termsKRW 7.1–7.8 millionKRW 5.6 million
Application feeKRW 80,000–130,000KRW 70,000
Housing, 12 months (our estimate)From about KRW 2.4 million (SNU twin) to 17 million (private studio)Usually less
Insurance, alien registration, textbooksSeveral hundred thousand KRWSimilar
Food, transport, phoneYour own budgetLower than Seoul

What this really means

Tuition rows come from official fees. Housing ranges from SNU's on-campus twin at KRW 600,000 a term to a studio at KRW 1.45 million a month (Yonsei's partner residence, 2025 price); most students in Seoul rent a room near campus. Our own rough guide for a modest life in Seoul is KRW 1–1.5 million a month on top of tuition, less outside Seoul. It's our estimate, not an official figure.

Dormitories

InstituteOn-campus or managed housing
SNUTwin from KRW 600,000 / term; may be limited from Spring 2027
ChungnamKRW 1,400,000 / term with weekday meals, first term
SKKU (Suwon)KRW 1,200,000 / term; none in Seoul
Korea UniversityKRW 1,450,000 / term, new students, one term
Kyung HeeKRW 1,450,000–2,450,000 / term
YonseiKRW 1,440,000–2,320,000 / term; very limited

The bank balance is not a fee

The balance is proof you can support yourself; it stays your money. But it must be real and stable. In our experience, money borrowed and deposited the week before, then withdrawn, invites trouble, and some institutes ask for the balance to have been held for 3 months or more.

Keep reading

How it works

Ten steps from choosing a program to your first class, and how long each takes.

Documents

What to prepare, how to certify it, and the extra papers for some countries.

Costs

Tuition, housing, the bank balance you need and what a first year really costs.

D-4 visa

Who qualifies, how to apply, part-time work, attendance and extensions.

Before you apply

The mistakes that cost students their visa or their money.

From language school to university

How a year of Korean leads into a degree, and which universities reward it.

Compare institutes

Nine university language institutes side by side, with 2027 dates and fees.

From Nepal

Consular confirmation, the NOC, and which institutes add extra rules.

From Uzbekistan

Apostille, the 3-month bank balance rule, and when you need a CCVI.

Sources and verification

Tuition, fees and dormitory prices from each institute's official pages (see institute pages), checked Oct 14, 2026. Monthly living cost is K-Admission's own estimate.

K-Admission is independent and not affiliated with any university or language institute. Rules change every term; always confirm in the institute's official guide before you apply.